Posted by: celticanglican | June 18, 2007

Can One Lose One’s Salvation?

Can One Lose One’s Salvation?

I believe that one can lose their salvation, speaking from a Scriptural standpoint. Here are some examples of this (unless otherwise noted, Scriptural references are from the NIV):

2 Peter 2:20-22: “If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them. Of them the proverbs are true: ‘A dog returns to its vomit,” and, “A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud.’”

1 Cor 15:1-2: “Now, brothers, I want to remind you of the gospel I preached to you, which you received and on which you have taken your stand. By this gospel you are saved, if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you. Otherwise, you have believed in vain.”

Again, this is a promise that Christians will be saved if they persevere in their faith. A person who knows Christ, but falls away from Him cannot claim that they were ignorant of the Gospel message. By rejecting Jesus, they are committing an unpardonable sin, and it is unpardonable because of their refusal to accept God’s forgiveness. Revelation 3:5 also states that a person’s name may be blotted out of the Book of Life.

However, many who believe in the doctrine of “once saved, always saved” will question how a person can lose their salvation in light of passages such as this: John 10:26-28 “but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.” What I believe about this, though, is that there is nothing one person can actually do to rob another of their salvation. However, a saved person can, of their own free will, choose to turn their back on God. God desires all to be saved, but He leaves the choice to follow Him up to us.

If you have backslidden and want to change your life, I invite you to visit the Savior’s Call at http://www.answers2prayer.org/saviours_call.html

Responses

  1. I totally agree! This is what I recently posted on another blog tonight….

    I, by no means, am an intellectual Christian, but my husband and I have been considering and researching this subject this evening after he read a verse that lead us to believe that you are able to lose your salvation, which is the complete opposite of what we’ve both been raised up by our families and churches to believe.

    So, in my research tonight, I found a lot of good verses and it seems very clear to me that this is possible, and believe me I am not really excited about this revelation considering the number of people I know and love that this could really reveal detrimental results for.

    I found one particular man’s viewpoint on his blog. To sum the concept up, his standing is that no, one cannot LOSE their salvation, but yes one can FORFEIT their salvation. This really made it all make sense to me. He used the analogy of losing your keys. If your keys are lost, you are not looking in the right place for them. Once you do, they are no longer lost. You haven’t truly lost them, you just aren’t looking in the right spot.

    His explanation for forfeiting your salvation is that God will not force his sheep to stay in the flock if they really want to leave and go against his guidelines.

    He said that those who are diligently following Christ in their daily lives (and of course we all sin), have no need in fearing the loss of their salvation. Those who are following a religion or denomination, etc. do not have it right because we are not asked to follow these things, but to follow God.

    Some more of what I found compelling this evening was 1 John 2:6 and 19 – vs 6- Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did. This shows that true Christians are ones that are living Godly lives and are not resting on their eternal “safety” that they will go to Heaven no matter what else they do on earth after praying the sinner’s prayer. vs 19 – They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us. – To me, this is indicative of a so-called Christian turning it’s back on a Godly life because they are not true Christians. If you truly believe in God, why would you not want to do everything right that you possibly can?

    Believe me, I’m not here to make everyone believe this because all my 24 years of life until this evening, I have upheld the belief of “once saved, always saved.” If that’s been incorrect, there are millions of church people who believe they are saved, but will truly perish if they do not change their lives. If you do a search in Google for “lose salvation” you will find many arguments for and against this belief. I encourage you to take some time to look into the belief that you CAN FORFEIT your salvation if you choose to live a worldly life, and I dont mean an extremely evil life, just a worldy, not God-centered life. You may find some interesting verses that you never knew existed.

    Again, I’m not saying I’m a Bible scholar, because I am definitely not, and if this new theory is correct, recently I’ve been turned away from God and would have been considered having forfeited my salvation.

    I dont have much on my blog right now because I’m just now going to get involved in this, but I hope to be posting thoughts very soon.

    Thank you.

  2. Thanks so much for your comments, I loved the analogy about the lost keys.

  3. Thanks! I can’t take credit for it though, because I got it from a man’s blog that I don’t even know. But, I just thought it’s something good to share when I see people wondering about this. I’m still not real sure on the “losing” thing or if it’s really just that people were never truly saved. That’s a truly tough one! Because no one can judge another man’s heart, except the fact that a Christian will produce good fruit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

