Posted by: celticanglican | January 5, 2008

Hidden in the Past, Open in the Present

Ephesians 3:1-12

This reading is often used on or otherwise associated with Epiphany, which commemorates Jesus’ manifestation to the Gentiles.  Simply put, an epiphany is a revelation. I’m sure that, for many of us, life offers one epiphany after the next.

I’ve had several in my life, but my most memorable one was in my teens, when I realized my search for the truth  was leading me all over the theological map. Perhaps my wandering from the Church better prepared me to be able to accept Jesus as revealed in the Bible.

A Jewish contributer to a religion board once asked if Christians believed that Jews were incapable of understanding or interpreting their Scriptures in respect to Jesus. This question was based on passages much like the reading from Ephesians. I don’t believe that Jesus was ‘hidden” from the Jewish people due to ignorance, but because the time for his Incarnation hadn’t yet come.

One illustration I’ve always liked relates to the celebration of Epiphany.  In my house as a kid, to diminish the overly-secularized part of Christmas, gifts were spread out over the 12 days of Christmas. One last gift was given on Epiphany (January 6th). I always knew there would be one last, special gift given on Epiphany. I knew it was there, someplace in that house, but would only receive it when the time was right.

God’s eternal gift of grace is such a treasure.

Leave a Reply

Categories

